Closing out Senior Year

Yesterday we shut the door to our High school careers. Literally, we shut our lockers for the last time at Carbon Hill High School. I can’t believe it’s here. I can’t believe I’ll walk, get my diploma, and throw my cap in the air Friday night. It’s surreal. One thing I’ve learned over the past four years is to try and treasure every bit of it. I know at times I wished it away and now I look back and think “why?” Your four years of high school will come to an end soon enough. There’s no need to rush it. There’s also no need in stressing. The test you’ve been studying for you’ll take and it’ll be over with, you’ll finish the research paper you’ve been putting off, and you’ll pass that class (hopefully) even if by an inch. It all comes to pass. Everything that seemed so huge at one point I see as so minuscule now. We always talked about “senior year” it was coming and what we do and how we would be, and we’ve never quite stoppped talking about the infamous “freshman year.” I feel like the Class of 2017 left a mark. We left a spirit that I don’t see in anyone else. Maybe it’s because it’s how we were raised. Our seniors, our freshman year, taught us well. They showed us to go all out. That’s exactly what we did. If I were to describe our class it would be: family. Everyone around us can see it too. We care. We love. We scream at the top of our lungs for everything and everyone. If one thing is for certain, that same spirit will take us far in life. Dedication, a heart for those around us, and the blue blood running through our veins. I’m proud to stand by my 90+ classmates on Graduation and say we did it. We did exactly what we wanted to do. We showed them how it’s done. We are “That Class” forever and always and I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way. Thank you Carbon Hill. You’ve been everything I could ask for.

IMG_3090

Leave a Reply

