A David Psalm

I’m currently studying the book of Psalms, inparticually David’s Psalm. I’m picking it apart and interpreting it how I understand it.

“Look at this: look Who got picked by GOD! He listens the split second I call to him. Complain if you must, but don’t lash out. Keep your mouth shut, and let your heart do the talking. Build your case before God and wait for his verdict.

Why is everyone hungry for more? “More, more,” they say. “More, more.” I have God’s more-than-enough, More joy in one ordinary day Than they get in all their shopping sprees. At day’s end I’m ready for sound sleep, For you, GOD, have put my life back together.
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭4:3-8‬ ‭MSG‬‬

Picking this scripture apart many parts of describe what God does:

* He listens the split second I call to him.
* I have God’s more-than-enough, More joy in one ordinary day.
* At day’s end I’m ready for sound sleep, For you, GOD, have put my life back together.

God doesn’t only do these things for David, but he does them for us too. I draw a connection from the words David wrote. God listens the split second I call to him. Whether I see it and understand it right when it happens or it takes a little time to set it, God is working. With God I have more than enough joy to fit into one day. I have all the joy in the world. When it’s time for me to put my head on my pillow at night I can sleep peacefully because God has put my life back together. A sinner’s life he’s mended. He’s washed clean. He’s forgiven.

Another part of this verse that stands out is “Keep your mouth shut, and let your heart do the talking.” God doesn’t always have to hear your words. God sees you right down to the core. He sees your heart, what’s real and true. You can’t cover up a heart whether it’s pure or tainted. Let it do the talking for you when you can’t seem to make words. Don’t try to trick God by covering up with words. He cannot be tricked, he sees your heart. He sees your true intentions. He sees your desires. If it’s him or not. So keep your mouth closed and let your heart do the talking. It speaks volumes.

Leave a Reply

